The site of a former castle dating back to 1870 whose gateway is all that remains today; this was the location chosen by Charles Sallandrouze for the construction of the Château Saint Jean residence in 1902.
Alongside Château Sallandrouze and Villa Saint Jean, Château Saint Jean formed part of the employer’s accommodation for the Sallandrouze Frères factory. After the outbreak of a fire in 1914, the roofs of the buildings were modified. On the main building, the small steeple on top of the gable end has been replaced by a queue de geai, giving it the distinct look of a tourist residence.
The eclectic style of the building features Art Nouveau influences. With no symmetrical aspects, the façade is brought to life with openwork detail, as if taking on a life of its own. The castle portrays a sense of freedom: the roofs are tiered in a variety of forms, each window is unique; the dormers feature a variety of designs.
The building draws inspiration from local architecture, hence the presence of an overhanging turret and also incorporates references to fortified architecture.
Today, Château Saint-Jean operates as a rest home and as such has a new wing and dining room.
The land surrounding the castle was developed according to the wishes of Charles Sallandrouze. It now belongs to the local council and features a rose garden with traditional species and original creations.
Situated further up the street, the chapel of Saint Jean is a 12th century parish church, converted into a chapel with the decline of the parish and extensively modified during the 15th and 16th centuries.
In 1818, ownership of the chapel was transferred to the Sallandrouze family, who put it to use it as a chapel of rest.