rue avec vue sur la tour médiévale
Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche
1h15
2,5 km
Steps
Departure :
1.
Memory and destinies of men

This audio clip tells you about the origins of the town of Saint-Yrieix in the mid-6th century, when Aredius, a Christian evangelist, founded a monastery in this exact location, which then became a cathedral chapter.

2.
Religious buildings and communities

In this video, explore the Saint-Yrieix Collegiate Church, the stages of its construction and its architectural features, which have often caused it to be referred to as a quasi-cathedral.

3.
Objects of religious art

In this interview, Zoé Darsy, head of cultural heritage of the town of Saint-Yrieix, tells the fascinating tale of the head reliquary of Aredius, which was stolen, replicated and replaced, with the original now kept at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. The replica in front of you is carried in processions during the Limousin ostensions (traditional ceremonies that are held every 7 years).

4.

  What is the purpose of this small enamelled chest decorated with angels?

5.

This object is a Eucharistic dove. Do you know the purpose for which it was used?

6.
Arrangement of public space

You are now opposite the ancient ramparts of Saint-Yrieix’s fortified medieval town, which were formed by the walls of houses, creating an inhabited enclosure around the Collegiate Church and the Plô tower. Listen to the audio guide to understand how this organisation functioned.

7.
Defensive constructions

This video takes you on a discovery of the oldest civil monument in the town of Saint-Yrieix: Plô tower. CGI reproductions show its interior structure and different functions during the medieval period.

8.

This home belonged to the viguier of Saint Yrieix. But who was this figure?

9.
Painting, tapestry and fire arts

This ancient home of the cathedral chapter is now home to the Saint-Yrieix House of Heritage. This cultural organisation dedicated to Saint-Yrieix’s porcelain heritage is presented here.

10.
Industrial, artisanal and commercial heritage

Kaolin, the clay crucial to the production of porcelain, is how the town of Saint-Yrieix made its wealth. Learn about this white gold, from its discovery and extraction to its use in the local area, especially in the Marcognac quarries, which are now classed as Monuments Historiques.

11.
Know-how and materials

This film unveils the secrets of how Limoges porcelain is manufactured. Jean-Paul Tarrade, the director of LS Art et Création, invites us on an unprecedented tour of the oldest Saint-Yrieix production site still in operation.

12.
Arrangement of public space

With this audio guide, pause for a few moments to look at the houses that line the Rue des Barris and watch over the commercial hustle and bustle of this street and this quarter, which developed in the area outside the fortified wall. 

13.
Arrangement of public space

You are at the entrance to the Place de la Nation, an important centre of Saint-Yrieix life that has had many roles over the centuries. Listen to its story and admire the private mansions surrounding the square.
 

14.

A tramway once ran through this intersection. What was its destination ?

15.
Buildings and public life

The grand building in front of you is the Saint-Yrieix town hall. This video presents its history and reveals its hidden wonders.

16.

How many names are engraved on the monument?


 

17.

For what purpose were these old public baths converted after being closed for 30 years?

18.
Objects of religious art, Buildings and public life

The Jean-Pierre Fabrègue Cultural Centre was built in 1994 and is classed as Architecture Contemporaine Remarquable (Remarkable Contemporary Architecture). In this video, discover this building and the priceless treasure that it houses: the Saint-Yrieix Bible, a 12th-century work with magnificent illumination.

19.
Know-how and materials

We’re ending this tour of Saint-Yrieix on a musical note. In this interview, Gaëtan Polteau and Jean-Marc Delaunay introduce you to the mirrored chabrette, the traditional instrument of Limousin and Périgord, as Saint-Yrieix was one of the places where the instrument was produced.

Similar courses
24 destinations
available to visit

rue de Saint Yrieix avec vue sur la tour médiévale
Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche
1h15
2,5 km
Étapes
Départ :
1.
Mémoire et destins des hommes

Cette séquence audio vous raconte les origines de la ville de Saint-Yrieix au milieu du 6ème siècle, lorsqu’Arédius, évangélisateur chrétien, fonde un monastère à cet emplacement précis, qui deviendra par la suite un chapitre de chanoines.

2.
Edifices et communautés religieuses

Découvrez dans cette vidéo l’église collégiale de Saint-Yrieix, les étapes de sa construction et ses caractéristiques architecturales, qui lui ont souvent conféré le surnom de semi-cathédrale.

3.
Objets d'art religieux

Dans cette interview, Zoé DARSY, animatrice du patrimoine de la ville de Saint-Yrieix, évoque le récit fascinant du chef reliquaire d’Arédius, volé, copié, puis remplacé, et dont l’original est conservé au Metropolitan Museum of Art de New-York. La copie devant vous est portée en procession lors des ostensions limousines (cérémonies traditionnelles qui ont lieux tous les 7 ans).

 

4.

Quelle est la fonction de ce petit coffre émaillé décoré d’anges ?

5.

Cet objet est une colombe eucharistique. Savez-vous à quoi elle servait ?

6.
Aménagement de l'espace public

Vous êtes ici face aux anciens remparts du bourg médiéval fortifié de Saint-Yrieix, constitués par les murs des maisons qui formaient un enclos habité autour de la collégiale et de la tour du Plô. Ecoutez l’audioguide pour comprendre l’organisation de cet ensemble.

7.
Constructions défensives

Cette vidéo vous emmène à la découverte du plus ancien monument civil de la ville de Saint-Yrieix : la tour du Plô. Des restitutions en images de synthèse évoquent son organisation intérieure et ses différentes fonctions à l’époque médiévale.

8.

Cette maison appartenait au viguier de Saint Yrieix. Mais qui était ce personnage ?

9.
Peinture, tapisserie et arts du feu

Cet ancien logis des chanoines de la collégiale, accueille aujourd’hui la maison du patrimoine de Saint Yrieix. Cette structure culturelle dédiée au patrimoine porcelainier de Saint-Yrieix vous est ici présentée.

10.
Patrimoine industriel, artisanal et commercial

Le Kaolin, argile essentielle à la fabrication de la porcelaine a fait la richesse de la ville de Saint-Yrieix ! Voici l’histoire de cet or blanc, sa découverte, son extraction et son exploitation locale, notamment aux carrières de Marcognac, aujourd’hui classées Monuments Historiques.

11.
Savoir-faire et matériaux

Ce film vous révèle les secrets de fabrication de la porcelaine de Limoges ! Jean-Paul Tarrade, directeur de la manufacture de porcelaine La Seynie, nous invite pour une visite inédite dans la plus ancienne des manufactures de Saint-Yrieix toujours en activité aujourd’hui.

12.
Aménagement de l'espace public

Attardez-vous quelques instants, grâce à cet audioguide, sur les maisons qui bordent la rue des Barris et qui témoignent de l’activité commerciale de cet axe et de ce quartier, développé en faubourg hors de l’enceinte fortifiée. 

13.
Aménagement de l'espace public

Vous êtes à l’entrée de la Place de la Nation, un centre important de la vie arédienne, qui a connu plusieurs fonctions au fil des siècles. Écoutez son histoire et admirez les hôtels particuliers qui bordent la place.

14.

À ce carrefour passait autrefois un tramway. Quelle était sa destination ?

15.
Edifices et vie publique

Le grand bâtiment face à vous est l’hôtel de ville de Saint-Yrieix. Cette vidéo vous présente son histoire et vous révèle ses beautés cachées.

16.

Combien de noms sont inscrits sur le Monument aux morts ?

17.

En quoi ont été reconvertis ces anciens bains-douche, après 30 ans de fermeture ?

18.
Objets d'art religieux, Edifices et vie publique

Le centre culturel Jean-Pierre Fabrègue construit en 1994 est labellisé Architecture Contemporaine Remarquable. Découvrez en vidéo ce bâtiment et le trésor inestimable qu’il abrite: la Bible de Saint-Yrieix, un ouvrage du 12ème siècle aux magnifiques enluminures.

19.
Savoir-faire et matériaux

Nous terminons ce parcours à Saint-Yrieix sur une note musicale ! Dans cette interview, Gaëtan Polteau et Jean-Marc Delaunay vous présentent la chabrette à miroir, instrument traditionnel du Limousin et du Périgord dont Saint-Yrieix a été l’un des foyers de fabrication.

Parcours similaires
24 destinations
disponibles à la visite