Orangerie du château de La Mothe Saint Héray
La Mothe Saint-Héray

This multimedia tour will guide you through the history and heritage of La Mothe-Saint-Héray and the Mellois area using videos, audio commentary and quizzes about the Sèvre Niortaise river, La Mothe-Saint-Héray castle and Protestantism in the Mellois area.

1h30
3 km
Steps
Departure :
1.
Landscape, garden and agricultural heritage

This charming little waterway is actually a coastal river that we invite you to explore here in a video. Out of all of its many mills, we stop to spend time at the one by which this tour starts: Moulin l’Abbé mill, the mechanisms of which are still working.

2.
Religious buildings and communities

Take time for a break to understand how Protestantism spread widely and became established in the long term in the Mellois area, starting from the 16th century. This is also an opportunity to revisit the origin of this religious reform movement.

4.
Castles

You are in front of the outer courtyard of a castle that is no longer here today. Here, we will tell you about the main events that marked its history, from its creation to its demolition in the 19th century.

5.
Castles

You are facing the Orangerie belonging to the former castle. This is an opportunity to discover what the castle would have looked like in the 18th century and how it was located at the centre of its annexes and grounds, thanks to CGI reconstructions.

6.
Memory and destinies of men

In this area, which was strongly affected by Protestantism, the Wars of Religion were particularly devastating for both sides. Look over the images of this complex and turbulent history.

7.
Religious buildings and communities

The many Protestant churches in the Mellois area, as well as other more subtle indicators, show the significance that the reformed religion continued to have in the area after the end of the dragonnades policy.

8.

This space, located in the former castle gardens, has had a specific function since the end of the 19th century. Do you know what this is?

9.

This circular building is a dovecote. Guess the number of nesting boxes (or nesting holes) that it has.

10.
Religious buildings and communities

The Mellois area is renowned for its Romanesque churches, but the 15th and 16th centuries also left their mark on some buildings. This video sequence will give you a synopsis of Flamboyant-style Gothic elements and wall murals from this period.

11.
Traditions and beliefs

You are standing in front of the Maison des Rosières. This major traditional festival, which blesses the marriages of particularly well-respected young Catholic women, is still continued today in La Mothe-Saint-Héray. Listen to the story of this tradition.

12.

La Mothe-Saint-Héray has its own original recipe for fouace, a delicious brioche bread inherited from a long tradition of baking. But from what meaning does the term “fouace” derive?

13.

You are in Place de l’Abbé Jallet. During which major French event did this figure, born in La Mothe-Saint-Héray, become famous?

Similar courses
24 destinations
available to visit

Orangerie du château de La Mothe Saint Héray
La Mothe Saint-Héray

Ce parcours multimédia vous accompagne pour découvrir l’histoire et le patrimoine de La Mothe Saint-Héray et du territoire mellois à travers des vidéos, des commentaires audios et des quizz notamment sur la Sèvre Niortaise, le château de La Mothe Saint-Héray et le protestantisme en mellois.

1h30
3 km
Étapes
Départ :
1.
Paysage, jardin et patrimoine agricole

Ce charmant petit cours d’eau est en réalité un fleuve côtier, que nous vous invitons ici à découvrir en vidéo. Parmi ses nombreux moulins, nous nous attardons sur celui devant lequel débute ce parcours : le Moulin l’Abbé, dont les mécanismes fonctionnent toujours.

2.
Edifices et communautés religieuses

Prenons le temps d’une halte pour comprendre comment le protestantisme s’est diffusé largement et implanté durablement sur le territoire mellois depuis le 16ème siècle. L’occasion aussi de revenir sur la genèse de ce courant de réforme religieuse.

4.
Châteaux et châteaux forts

Vous êtes devant les bâtiments de la basse-cour d’un château aujourd’hui disparu. Nous vous relatons ici les principaux événements qui ont marqué son histoire depuis son origine jusqu’à sa démolition au 19ème siècle.

5.
Châteaux et châteaux forts

Vous faites face à l’Orangerie de l’ancien château. C’est l’occasion de découvrir, grâce à des restitutions en images de synthèse, à quoi pouvait ressembler ce dernier au 18ème siècle et comment il se situait au centre de ses dépendances et de son parc.

6.
Mémoire et destins des hommes

Sur ce territoire très marqué par le protestantisme, les guerres de religion ont été particulièrement destructrices, dans un camp comme dans l’autre. Revenons en images sur cette histoire complexe et mouvementée !

7.
Edifices et communautés religieuses

Les nombreux temples protestants en mellois, ainsi que d’autres indices plus discrets, témoignent de la persistance de la religion réformée sur ce territoire après la fin des dragonnades.

8.

Cet espace, situé sur l’ancien parc du château, a occupé une fonction particulière à partir de la fin du 19ème siècle. Savez-vous laquelle ?

9.

Ce bâtiment circulaire est un pigeonnier. Devinez le nombre de nids (ou boulins) qu’il contient.

10.
Edifices et communautés religieuses

Le mellois est réputé pour ses églises romanes, mais les 15ème et 16ème siècles ont également marqué certains édifices. Cette séquence vidéo vous propose un tour d’horizon des éléments gothiques flamboyants et des peintures murales de cette période.

11.
Traditions et croyances

Vous êtes devant la maison des Rosières. Cette grande fête traditionnelle consacrant le mariage de jeunes femmes catholiques distinguées pour leur vertu perdure encore aujourd’hui à La Mothe Saint-Héray. Ecoutez l’histoire de cette tradition.

12.

La Mothe-Saint-Héray possède sa propre recette originale de la fouace, un délicieux pain brioché héritée d’une longue tradition pâtissière. Mais de quelle signification dérive le terme de « fouace » ?

13.

Vous êtes sur la Place de l’Abbé Jallet. Dans quel grand événement français ce personnage, natif de La Mothe-Saint-Héray, s’est-il illustré ?

Parcours similaires
23 destinations
disponibles à la visite